Travel Trends: Harajuku Heaven

I’ve died and gone to heaven…Harajuku heaven that is! There’s a reason Gwen Stefani makes reference to this trendy fashion district, it leaves you craving more!

I’ve been fortunate enough to travel the world but this past week was my first visit to Japan. I knew I would love it there, as I have many other Asian countries, but Japan is in a league of it’s own. 

Here are a few observations I made over the course of the week:

Femininity: In Tokyo, girls will be girls.  I, personally, wasn’t one for the excessive amounts of cutesy bows and girly scrunchies but what I could relate to was the overwhelming number of women wearing skirts and dresses.  It was very rare that I did see women in pants or jeans.


Pattern mixing:  Typically only attempted by the very daring here at home (even I’m not brave enough), mixing patterns is second nature in Japan; florals paired with stripes, plaid with polka-dot, or even all at once, it all works seamlessly there.


Accessories:  In this case more IS more!  Purses, patterned tights, embellished collars, layered necklaces, bright belts – I wanted it all.  I finally decided on a bright belt and a headband.


Layered Textures: Beading, sequins, furs, lace, tulle – you name it, not only do they wear it but they wear it together.  Yes,  a lace dress, beaded collar and sequin bag and you have an outfit!
Prim and proper:  Tokyo has a definite sense of being put together. I never once saw someone in sweatpants and a sweatshirt or looking like they just rolled out of bed.  There was an overall feeling of putting effort into one’s appearance – it was very refreshing and very encouraging!

I left feeling inspired, refreshed and with a heavier suitcase. I’m absolutely looking forward to my next visit, arigato Japan – you complete me.

Your japanese junkie,

M

This entry was posted in Travel Trends and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel Trends: Harajuku Heaven

  1. Candice says:

    Lllllip my stocking!

Leave a Reply

