Travel Trends Cape Town: Fur, Feathers and Tribal Oh My!

I’m lucky enough to travel quite frequently for work.  Although it’s mostly work, any second I have off I generally jet out to a local market to see what that city has to offer. I love exploring and discovering  the unique trends and tastes from all over the world and so, on a recent trip to Cape Town, South Africa, I did just that.

View from Camps Bay

Cape Town is surprisingly quite European-influenced so most of the local malls offer similar items to any major European or U.S. city.  The markets on the other hand offer a vast amount of jewellery at jaw-dropping affordable prices. The main hot trends: stones, bone, feathers, banana leaves, leathers and furs; essentially, making jewellery, bags and belts out of any material that is available and local to them.Coincidentally, these native trends are also popping up in every designer’s current collection.

Local stall at the market. Stone, bone and metal necklaces

 

Bone and banana leaf earrings

I am a big fan of expensive jewellery, don’t get me wrong, but there was something refreshing about seeing all these beautiful, individual  pieces, made by hand right in front of you using these local, “organic” materials.  However, it was a bit shocking seeing all the different types of furs and leathers being used, I had to remind myself that I was in Africa, not Canada!  I didn’t purchase any of those items myself but I did admire them.

Leather bags at a local stall

 

Like most markets, you have to dig but there are always some nice little treasures hiding around the corner.  And after a few purchases and some major bargaining, I went on my way…

Till the next travel…

M

This entry was posted in Travel Trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

